Uniterre

Identity card

Uniterre is a farmers’ organisation with some 1,000 members, including 700 to 800 farmers families. It was founded in 1951 as the « Union of Swiss Producers (UPS)". In 2001, it was renamed Uniterre to avoid confusion with other organizations.

It plays a central role in information and mobilization between the different levels, from the farms to the international level: Uniterre is a member of the European Coordination Via Campesina, of La Via Campesina International and the European Milk Board (EMB).

Uniterre seeks to develop a vast peasant and citizen movement around agricultural and food issues by defending a remunerative, diversified peasant agriculture that is close to the population. Uniterre strongly defends the concept of food sovereignty, which was put to the vote by the Suisse people through the Food Sovereignty Initiative on 23 September 2018. This vote was not won but it did raise the debate and advance the peasant cause in Switzerland. In Switzerland Uniterre brings a different perspective into the ongoing political and civic debate.

It organizes numerous professional or information advocacy actions within the peasant world and to broad circles of the population and does advocacy work towards institutions and politicians.

Objectives

  • Restore courage and the desire to fight collectively

  • More lively campaigns, more contacts and exchanges between neighbours, colleagues, more links between consumers, actors and producers

  • Integrate Food Sovereignty into the Federal Constitution

  • Give back pride to the farmer, enhance the value of his profession both economically and in his place in society

  • Allow farmers to regain control over the sale of their products

  • To improve living together, to develop reflection and analysis for a society that respects the human being, that our children keep a critical spirit of our society tomorrow

Uniterre

Carte d’identité

Uniterre est une organisation paysanne de quelque 1’000 membres dont 700 à 800 familles paysannes. Elle a été fondée en 1951 sous le nom de « Union des producteurs suisses (UPS) ». En 2001, elle prend le nom d’Uniterre pour éviter les confusions avec d’autres organisations.

Elle joue un rôle central dans l’information et la mobilisation entre les différents échelons, des fermes, aux sections, au comité, au niveau national puis international : Uniterre est membre de la Coordination Européenne Via Campesina, La Via Campesina et European Milk Board (EMB).

Uniterre cherche à développer un vaste mouvement paysan et citoyen autour des questions agricoles et alimentaires en défendant une agriculture paysanne rémunératrice, diversifiée et proche de la population. Uniterre défend fermement le concept de souveraineté alimentaire, passé en votation populaire au travers de l’initiative pour la souveraineté alimentaire le 23 septembre 2018 en Suisse. Cette votation ne fut pas gagnée mais elle a permis de soulever le débat et faire avancer la cause paysanne en Suisse. Uniterre apporte au débat politique et citoyen une voie différente du débat ambiant.

Elle organise de nombreuses actions de défense professionnelle ou d’information au sein du monde paysan et à des cercles larges de la population et de plaidoyer auprès des institutions et politiques.

Objectifs

Redonner du courage et l’envie de lutter collectivement

Des campagnes plus vivantes, plus de contacts et d’échanges entre voisins/ines, entre collègues, plus de liens entre consommateurs ou consomm’acteurs et producteurs

Intégrer la Souveraineté Alimentaire dans la Constitution fédérale

Rendre sa fierté au paysan, revaloriser son métier tant économiquement que dans sa place dans la société

Permettre aux paysans de reprendre la main sur la vente de ces produits

Améliorer le vivre-ensemble, développer la réflexion et l’analyse pour une société respectueuse de l’être humain, que nos enfants gardent demain un esprit critique de notre société